Campus Services and Resources

Harvard has a distinctive residential college model which supports students through nested layers of support offered across the College and student trajectory.  Support for undocumented students happens in the residence halls through special programming by the Freshman Dean’s Office for first-year students and through the Office of Student Life for upper class students. The support starts with Admissions programs which identify students and offer support throughout the first year.  The mechanisms for support span the personal, social and intellectual transformations that Harvard College seeks to manifest. Academically, there are trained supports throughout the advising system for first through senior year. Socially, there are a few different student groups which provide programming and mentoring.  And personally, there is a strong partnership between various offices such Health Services, Career Services, the International Office, Office of Student Life and the Freshman Dean’s Office and the student groups to maximize options and ensure safety. Below please find an enumeration of the variety of programs and services offered at Harvard for first generation and low income students.

Office for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI)  Learn More
Katie Derzon, Fellow for Undocumented Students
617-496-4731, kderzon@fas.harvard.edu

Advising Programs Office (APO) Learn More
Glenn Brody Magid, Director of Advising Programs
617-495-3580, brodymagid@fas.harvard.edu

Financial Aid Office (FAO)  Learn More
Janet Irons, Senior Associate Director of Financial Aid & Senior Admissions Officer
617-496-5163, irons@fas.harvard.edu

Harvard Law School Immigration Clinic (HIRC)  Learn More
Free Legal and Social Services
Sabrineh Ardalan, Assistant Director HIRC
617-384-7504, sardalan@law.harvard.edu
Jason Corral, Immigration Attorney
617-495-5141, jcorral@law.harvard.edu
Liala Buoniconti, Social Worker
617-496-5087, lbuoniconti@law.harvard.edu 

Counseling and Mental Health Services (CAMHS)  Learn More
Kevin Wehmhoefer, Therapist
617-495-2042, kwehmhoefer@huhs.harvard.edu
Carolina Gonzalez, Therapist
617-495-2042, cgonzalez@huhs.harvard.edu

Bureau of Study Counsel (BSC)  Learn More
Aurora Sanfeliz, Academic Counselor
617-495-2581, asanfeliz@bsc.harvard.edu
Niti Seth, Academic Counselor
617-495-2581, nseth@fas.harvard.edu

Office of International Education (OIE)  Learn More
Camila Nardozzi, Director, Office of International Education
617-384-7896, cnardozzi@fas.harvard.edu

Harvard International Office (HIO)  Learn More
Tana Ruegamer, Advisor
617-496-2822, tana_ruegamer@harvard.edu

Office of Career Services (OCS) Learn More
Robin Mount, Director of Career Services
617-495-2595, rmount@fas.harvard.edu

Office of Undergraduate Research and Fellowships (URAF)  Learn More
Cammi Valdez, Assistant Director
617-496-6220, cvaldez@fas.harvard.edu

Freshmen Dean's Office (FDO)  Learn More
Jasmine Waddell, Elm Yard Dean
617-495-1577, elm-yard-dean@fas.harvard.edu 

Center for Public Interest Careers and Harvard Public Service Network (CPIC)  Learn More
Varsha Ghosh, Manager
617-496-8622, vghosh@fas.harvard.edu

Act On A Dream  Learn More
Harvard College Act on a Dream is a student-led, student-run organization dedicated to eradicating the barriers that immigrant students face in realizing their full potential. We believe in the importance of engaging all youth, regardless of background, and their adult allies in working for the preservation of America’s pledge as the land of opportunity.

Doctors Who DREAM 
petrie-flom@law.harvard.edu

Pre-Health Dreamers
Informally co-founded by three undocumented youth in the San Francisco Bay Area, Pre-Health Dreamers was formed out of the need for answers in their personal pursuits of higher education at the graduate and medical levels. Angel, Denisse, and New have paved their own paths throughout college and have leveraged each person’s expertise in skillful advocacy, networking, and community-building to build a community, resource, and forum. The varied but unique backgrounds and perspectives of each individual contribute to the ambitious mission of Pre-Health Dreamers.