Campus Services and Resources

Harvard has a distinctive residential college model which supports students through nested layers of support offered across the College and student trajectory.  Support for undocumented students happens in the residence halls through special programming by the Dean of Students Office. The support starts with Admissions programs which identify students and offer support throughout the first year.  The mechanisms for support span the personal, social and intellectual transformations that Harvard College seeks to manifest. Academically, there are trained supports throughout the advising system for first through senior year. Socially, there are a few different student groups which provide programming and mentoring.  And personally, there is a strong partnership between various offices such Health Services, Career Services, the International Office, and the student groups to maximize options and ensure safety. Below please find an enumeration of the variety of programs and services offered at Harvard for first generation and low income students.

Academic Resource Center (ARC)  Learn More
Donna Mumme, Director
617-495-5734

Advising Programs Office (APO) Learn More
Anne Marie Sousa, Director of Advising Programs
617-495-3580, sousa@fas.harvard.edu

Counseling and Mental Health Services (CAMHS)  Learn More
Carolina Gonzalez, Therapist
617-495-2042, cgonzalez@huhs.harvard.edu
Kevin Wehmhoefer, Therapist
617-495-2042, kwehmhoefer@huhs.harvard.edu

Financial Aid Office (FAO)  Learn More
Janet Irons, Senior Associate Director of Financial Aid & Senior Admissions Officer
617-496-5163, irons@fas.harvard.edu

Harvard International Office (HIO)  Learn More
Tana Ruegamer, Advisor
617-496-2822, tana_ruegamer@harvard.edu

Harvard Law School Immigration Clinic (HIRC)  Learn More
Free Legal and Social Services
Sabrineh Ardalan, Assistant Director HIRC
617-384-7504, sardalan@law.harvard.edu
Jason Corral, Immigration Attorney
617-495-5141, jcorral@law.harvard.edu
Liala Buoniconti, Social Worker
617-496-5087, lbuoniconti@law.harvard.edu 

Office of Diversity Education & Support (ODES) 
Robin Johnson, Director
rjohnson@fas.harvard.edu

Office of International Education (OIE)  Learn More
Camila Nardozzi, Director, Office of International Education
617-384-7896, cnardozzi@fas.harvard.edu

Office of Career Services (OCS) Learn More
Robin Mount, Director of Career Services
617-495-2595, rmount@fas.harvard.edu

Office of Undergraduate Research and Fellowships (URAF)  Learn More
Assistant Director
617-496-6220

Dean of Students Office (DSO)  Learn More
Chris Scanlon, Elm Yard Dean
617-495-1577, elm-yard-dean@fas.harvard.edu 

Public Service Network (PSN) & the First-Year Urban Program (FUP) (Harvard College) Learn More
Varsha Ghosh, Director
617-496-8622, vghosh@fas.harvard.edu

Act On A Dream  Learn More
Harvard College Act on a Dream is a student-led, student-run organization dedicated to eradicating the barriers that immigrant students face in realizing their full potential. We believe in the importance of engaging all youth, regardless of background, and their adult allies in working for the preservation of America’s pledge as the land of opportunity.

UndocuAllies Initiative Learn More

The UndocuAllies Initiative aims to inform educational leaders at HGSE about the issues undocumented immigrants face, and prepare them to better address these challenges upon graduation as they come into contact with students who are undocumented or who belong to mixed status families.